keyboard_arrow_left See all news

Recent News

11 May, 2022 /
Seawork Press FP
Accelerating ambitious growth
An accomplished professional from South Africa has been recruited to grow the marine bus...
09 May, 2022 /
Seawork Press FP
Weightlifting – saving CO2 emissions
An electric propulsion system for an Estonian shipyard’s new hybrid passenger and bicy...
09 May, 2022 /
Seawork Press FP
Driving investment to gain significant traction
A track record of business transformation and growth in transport, infrastructure, envir...
06 May, 2022 /
Seawork Press FP
Getting down and dirty with silt
Dock operations are compromised, lockgates are not operating correctly, silt is building...
05 May, 2022 /
Seawork Press FP
Speaking at Speed
Commander Tom Trent RN, Future Air Defence Programme Director & Above Water Battlespace ...
19 Jan, 2021
keyboard_arrow_left See all news

NMEA 2000 Committee Chair named

Global Standards body NMEA (National Marine Electronics Association) has named Andy Campbell as the next NMEA 2000 Committee Chair.

Andy Campbell is the Chief Engineer at Poole UK-based specialist marine electronics brand, Actisense which has been a member of NMEA since the brand was launched by Active Research Ltd. in 2001.

Andy Campbell said, “I’ve been an active member of various NMEA 2000 Working Groups over the past 12 years, absorbing the inner workings of NMEA Standards and I now feel honoured and ready to accept the invitation to be the NMEA 2000 chair. The excellence of the NMEA 2000 committees over the past 20 years has enabled NMEA 2000 to gain the exceptional market penetration and respect that it has today. I’m excited to continue working with manufacturers, technical installers, commercial dealers and boating enthusiasts as we continue to drive these standards forward and cultivate further innovation.”

Mark Oslund, Director of Standards at the NMEA, commented, “As 2021 begins, we hope for a better and healthier year. We sincerely thank all NMEA 2000 standard contributors. We also thank Mr. Lee Luft, who has chaired the NMEA 2000 Technical Standards Committee for several years. Mr. Luft has handed the torch to our new NMEA 2000 Committee Chair, Andy Campbell from Actisense, and NMEA 2000 Co-Chair Andrew Bazan from Mercury Marine. Both Andy and Andrew will build off the strong foundation that Mr. Luft has created and are ready to lead NMEA 2000 into the future.”

Actisense has extensive experience consultingon and contributing to the popular marine industry electronics standards, enabling the creation of a number of useful online resources, plus free apps for boaters and installers. The company’s extensive range of NMEA 2000 and NMEA 0183 products includes NMEA Buffers, NMEA Conversion Gateways, and a NMEA 2000 Wi-Fi Gateway.

Processing. Please wait.